**Illustrating Endangered Species** 

Using art and science to create a simple book emphasizing art styles and endangered species facts

   

Books and Encyclopedias:  located on cart and in library 

 Subscription Databases:

World Book Online 

Facts on File - Ask your teacher or Mrs. Samples for the login information.  Once you are in Facts on File, Click on the Science Online database.  Type in the keywords "endangered species" or your specific animal and explore the sites returned.

Internet Sites for Endangered Species: 

Especies Fact Sheet 

Fact Monster Science - A student oriented site with a table of endangered and threatened statistics

Ask Dr. Universe – this site presented by Washington State University offers insight into the causes many animals are threatened or endangered 

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species - International Union for the Conservation of
            Nature and Natural Resources.  The Conservation union brings together 83 states, 110
            government agencies as well as over 800 non-governmental organizations creating
            an important conservation network.

Endangered Species.com – This site provides a wide range of information including the causes of endangerment, facts and figures, photos, governmental laws, and additional resources. 

Imagine Animals Bagheera:  A website for our endangered species - – This website puts images and text together so that the plight of endangered animals is made known to the individuals who visit this site. 

The Endangered Species Program - presented by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 

Animal Info - Information on Endangered Animals – This site provides detailed information covering a wide range of endangered animals.  There are several indexes used within the site.  They are grouped by “rarest”, by “species”, by “country” and by “state” 

EELink Endangered Species - Environmental Education on the Internet provides information for teachers and students who are learning about environmental issues.  In particular this site is a compilation of links from the US Fish and Wildlife Service, the National Wildlife Refuge, the National Marine Fisheries Service, SeaWorld/Busch Gardens, World Wildlife Fund, and EE-Link regarding endangered species 

Pesticides:  Endangered Species Protection Program – U.S. Environmental Protection Program 

World Wildlife Federation   

2004 IUCN Red List of Threatened Species - sponsored by the International Union of Conservation and Natural Resources (IUCN) 

Endangered Species Recovery Program  

Barbarylion.com – this site is specific to the Barbary Lions who have rebounded from possible extinction 

Endangered Species Coalition – this site is the homepage for the Endangered Species Coalition who speaks on endangered species issues and protects the Endangered Species Act of 1793 (ESA)

Conservation and Research for Endangered Species – sponsored by the San Diego Zoo 

Help Save Our Endangered Species – this site sponsored by the Defenders of Wildlife gives background information and current issues regarding the Endangered Species Act 

NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service – New South Wales, Australia 

Threatened Species – Species, populations, and ecological communities of New South Wales Australia 

Defenders of Wildlife – this group focuses on the protection of wildlife and habitats, stressing the importance of the preservation of entire ecosystems 

Pacific Primate Organization – provides a safe haven for endangered and distressed primates; located in Maui, HI 

Endangered Species – a Seaworld Education Department Resource 

California State University Stanislaus Endangered Species Recovery Program 

Endangered/Extinct – Canadian Museum of Nature 

Saving the Great Apes – by Time for Kids 

           Pandas International

            Animal Diversity Web - hosted by the University of Michigan Museum of Zoology

 

 

Click here for art style resources (impressionism, realism, naive)

  Created by Carol Samples
Last updated 03/27/2008