Research Project:
 
The Colonial Magazine


Assignment::  The student will pick a colony and design a colonial magazine that reflects the life and times of that colony.

  Keywords:  colony, colonial, Virginia, Massachussets,
  (i.e. each colony name), puritans, quakers, William
  Penn, colonial crafts, colonial food)

Library Resources (Reference and Nonfiction):

Internet Resources: 

World Book Online – begin your research here for basic information (passwords are posted on the bulletin board near computers).

Facts on File – This database contains information for The Colonial Era within the American History online database. 

EBSCO  – This database contains journals, newspaper articles, magazines, primary source documents and more for the Colonial Time Period.  You should begin your search in the “Student Research Center”. 

Additional Online Resources:

          America's Library - this site helps elementary and middle
                      school students learn about various periods of time in
                      history

          American Memory - created by the Library of Congress
                      more than 10 million digitized items documenting American
                      history.  Type your search term in the top right corner of the
                      home page (i.e. colonial time, colonial period, thirteen
                      colonies)

          Pictorial Americana:  Selected Images from the Collections
                      of the Library of Congress. 

          Colonial Timeline - from the American Memory Collection

          American Time Capsule - from the American Memory
                      Collection; search using "colonial", "Virginia", etc.

Colonial Resources from the Henry Ford Foundation - A site that contains print resources for teachers, bibliography of fiction and nonfiction books for students, and online resources for students pertaining to Colonial Life: 

Colonial Timeline - A colonial timeline created by the Henry Ford Foundation. 

An American Time Capsule - from the American Memory collection; search on "colonial", "Virginia", etc.

Meet a Colonial Family - This an interactive site that will introduce the student to a Colonial Family and allow them to explore the aspects of colonial life.  

Colonial Life – This site is presented by the Mayflower families. 

Colonial Hall Biographies - This site contains 111 biographies of colonial Americans and are divided into three groups:   Signers of the Declaration of Independence, Signers of the Constitution, and Signers of the Articles of Confederation. 

Pocahontas - This site is maintained by the Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities and gives a history of Pocahontas from birth through death. 

Monticello: Thomas Jefferson - This link is part of the Monticello (Thomas Jefferson’s home) site and gives insight to Jefferson’s daily life as well as a timeline. 

The Story of the Pilgrims - This site sponsored by the Plimoth Foundation gives historical background of the Pilgrims, their trip over on the Mayflower, as well their early years in Plymouth. 

Jamestown Rediscovery - This site is sponsored by the Association of the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities.  It provides background information on one of the first English colonies. 

Colonial Games and Toys  

Colonial Clothing

Meet the people of Colonial Williamsburg 

Experience Colonial Williamsburg 

Schooling, Education, and Literacy in Colonial America - This site gives background on the education of Colonial times. 

A Celebration of Life in the 1700's This award winning site was created by kids for kids and gives a student perspective of Colonial Life and Times. 

Enjoy some historical fiction from Civil War Times -
   Click here for Bibliography

 

Created by Carol Samples
Last updated 12/14/2007